South face with entry to the steps of St. Paul's Cathedral.
In the shadow of St. Paul's Cathedral is Temple Bar. Named after Temple Church and erected in 1672, it marked the westernmost part of the City of London and used to regulate trade and entry into the city. The description below details its odd history. It now stands as an entrance to Paternoster Square where its 2,700 stones were moved, re-erected and restored in 2004. It is the only surviving of the seven original gateways into the city. More info at thetemplebar.info.